Introducing: Where in the world is Illume at Eight?

Dear All,

I’d like to a introduce a new addition to my blog called “Where in the world is Illume at Eight?”, coined after the show featuring my personal heroine, Carmen Sandiego.  Every week, I’d like to feature an original photo of mine along with some clues and choices for you to guess the location.  I will post answers 24-48 hours after I post.  I hope that you will participate 🙂

So without further ado… on to this week’s photo

The city is in Europe.  Location of the second-largest office site of the United Nations.    Multilingual – German and French are among official languages.  Tasty macrons can be found within the Cornavin train station just a few blocks from here.  Hotel rooms can be quite expensive and cramped.  If you cross the border just miles away, you’ll need Euros.

A. Strasbourg, France

B. Brussels, Belgium

C. Geneva, Switzerland

5 thoughts on “Introducing: Where in the world is Illume at Eight?

  1. Did you mean to say “tasty macaroons”? You’re giving away too much!

    Although, I like the multiple choice. I’m going with C.

    Of the American and European cities you’ve visited, how many have the traffic lights on the side of the intersection rather than hanging overhead as is the norm in the South?

  2. Macrons are French. http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/parisian-macaroons
    But I think “French macaroons” are different from the American ones -which tend to be doughy and fluffy.

    I’m giving away too much? I thought including cities of similar cultural backgrounds and also cities that host various multilateral entities, made it sufficiently confusing.

    I think I should add more choices to make it more confounding, but also pick photos that might have more inherent clues. This one has ones which may or may not be helpful – like the German and what looks like to be Swiss flags hanging from a balcony window.

    I may also do 2x week.

    1. If you’re going to do a city scene with more inherent clues like storefront signs or traffic signs, cars, and architecture (of course), then maybe it doesn’t need multiple choice?

      On the other hand, if you’re doing more flora and fauna scenery, or beaches, sunsets, etc, then multiple choice would be good.

      “Is it Jerusalem or is it Cyprus?!”

    1. You’re giving away too much with “The city is in Europe. Location of the second-largest office site of the United Nations. Multilingual – German and French are among official languages.”

Leave a Reply

