Homage to Canada Water

Reposted from my Livejournal, July 01, 2006

As I’m in the middle of writing what is to be my third story set in London, I came across some logistical quandaries, such as:

Is Piccadilly Circus tube station or Tottenham Court Road closer to Soho Square? Do you exit Bond Street or Oxford Circus to come up face to face with Topshop & H&M? And if it is the latter, then my characters can’t have that scene, b/c they’d be using the Jubilee Line from Canada Water to get out at the Bond Street Station . . .

Unfortunate that my memory of these intricacies which were once second nature is not sharp anymore, but fortunate that we have Wikipedia, which is surprisingly detailed on such concerns. So it is that I’ve been using to iron out the locational issues related to my story. I came across some beautiful pictures of the Canada Water and Canary Wharf stations I thought I’d present here. Below, the strange, circular modernistic structure I walked in and out of every single day.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The platform that I stood on, often impatiently, when I was late; often impatiently, simply because. The Jubilee Line is the only line encased by a glass exterior, protecting you from the train and noise, though not necessarily from a draft of stale Tube air. Mmm.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

And the expansious (not a real word) interior of the Canary Wharf station, which was one down from where I lived, across the river. In all the time I lived there, I visited the business/commercial district 3-4 times tops. I always wanted to run into “suit-and-ties” as sittingpugs would put it, but I was always too late in the morning or too late in the evening to catch the FT-reading, Pink and Canali-suited crowd. I never did manage to get up at 7:00 a.m. in the morning to do it.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photos are all courtesy Wikipedia.

One thought on “Homage to Canada Water

Leave a Reply

