I still see blue people

Is it just me, or do the Na’vi from Avatar remind you uncannily of Zhaan (Virginia Hey) and her Delvian peoples from Farscape (1999)? Incidentally, I am currently re-watching Season 1.  To be honest, I had only made it through Season 2 before I lost track of it in college never finished watching it!  I have my chance now.

Zhaan, played by the ethereally beautiful Virginia Hey, with Mt. Everest cheekbones that could cut ice,  is a holy woman, a priestess, and best of all, a plant capable of photosynthesis.  That explains the blue.  While Na’vi are capable of communing with plants, it’s never quite clarified whether their skin contains chlorophyll and stomata or not, despite that enormous book Signourney Weaver’s character has written.  Anyways, you can see the similarities and differences for yourself.

Photo credits: 20th Century Fox (Neytiri), Google Image Search (Zhaan)

4 thoughts on “I still see blue people

  1. Staci

    I’m surprised I didn’t see the similarities before! (I was sucked into Farscape a few years ago but lost track of it…they don’t show the reruns anymore here). Still haven’t seen Avatar yet though :o/

  2. I think you’d love the direction Farscape went in during it’s succint but perfect 4-season run. There are few sci-fi men I like more than John Crichton.

    Avatar meets the hype as far as entertainment value and technical complexity are concerned. Also does well in terms of political commentary. It fails in the narrative, acting/voice-acting, nd characterization. And I still have a problem with digitized characters – this will be the subject of my next blog post : )

  3. Zhaan, played by the ethereally beautiful Virginia Hey, with Mt. Everest cheekbones that could cut ice, is a holy woman, a priestess, and best of all, a plant capable of photosynthesis.

    Wow. Zhaan’s head reminds me of the aliens in the Fox TV show Alien Nation.

    Click here for more info.

Leave a Reply

